What’s up with the marmot post

Much has happened since my last post

Much has happened since my last post

It’s been a very long time since I posted on this blog; to be precise 7 months and 9 days. Contrary to what it might look like, I have not forgotten this blog and I have certainly not decided to stop writing it. 2016 has been such an eventful year there just simply was no time for writing and even less for generating new material by going on hikes.

In 2016 I became pregnant, bought a flat in Munich, refurbished it, moved in and gave birth to a baby boy. Hiking (if you can call it that) fitted in only on one weekend in May.

Fitting hiking into my life will continue to be a challenge for some time, but I am staring to see the light at the end of the tunnel when it comes to writing for the marmot post.

I have plenty of post ideas that I haven’t previously had the time to write up, because I always prioritised trip reports. There are some notes on hiking in the Valais, top 10 treks in the Alps, hiking in Bavaria and more waiting to be finished and published.

I will also, as I did while I was recovering from my knee injury two years ago, exploit the flexibility of this blog’s tag line “out and about in the Alps and anywhere else”. Urban walking is bound to come back with more walks from Munich. There will also no doubt be posts about various baby friendly day trips to destinations in Bavaria.

Bavaria and Munich will generally become a much greater focus of the marmot post. That should be a good thing as my one and only Bavarian post “7 hiking trips from Munich” has been the most read post on the blog in 2016, easily overtaking all Alta Via 1 posts that dominated the blog stats previously.

Here’s to a 2017 full of new adventures!

2 comments

  1. Well, congratulations, marketa! This means you should definitely be reading posts by your co-adventure-writer, Michael Lanza, Creator of The Big Outside! (I know you already know him and his writing, but I find his posts on hiking and backpacking with children to be very inspiring!) https://sable.godaddy.com/c/45343?id=351043.2818.1.05e4dd54faedd7956e79b5a420762fd4

    1. Hi John! Thank you for the congrats and the link. I actually have to admit that I didn’t know Michael. His blog is great. I shall be following him from now on. Marketa

Leave a Reply

