Escaping the crowds in Prague – urban walk no. 3

I love Prague. Every time I go back I get excited by all the history that Prague is infused with. Past periods seem to be layered on top of each other in the streets of the Old Town as if in a big puff pastry pie of history.

As you walk around, these layers rise above the surface in Prague’s architecture. Within just a few steps you can appreciate early Central European Christianity in the 10th century, stumble across the first seeds of European Reformation in the 15th century and be reminded of the terror of the two “isms” of the 20th century.

I often have a feeling that in some ways time has stopped in Prague or at least there is a sense of looking back at previous glory days. I love this strange mix of nostalgia, anticipation and disappointment that (at least to me) seems to hang in the air.

When I was in Prague for work two weeks ago, I made sure I set aside at least one evening to enjoy this Old Town genius loci and indulged in another urban walk.

Having been to Prague many times before it was easy for me just to stroll through some of the smaller streets and alleyways, avoiding the omnipresent tourist crowds.

Related posts

3 comments

  1. I’m going to Prague in December, and it looks stunning! I can’t wait! Is there anything you’d recommend while there?

    1. Hi Becky,

      Thanks for your comment. I’ve updated the post with a simple map showing where I walked the other day. Might be interesting for you too. Otherwise, I’d definitely recommend going to this place http://www.terasauprince.com/ It’s a rooftop terrace bar/ restaurant on top of a hotel (U Prince). I haven’t been there for quite a long time, so can’t vouch for the food, but the views are amazing. I am pretty sure they are open all year round. A glass of mulled wine on a December evening, will go down just fine.

      Have fun planning the rest of your trip!

      marketa

Leave a Reply

