Glimpses of last summer

After a while I’ve finally found the time to come back to the marmot post. As I’ve been going through the admin area, I came across a few links I saved last summer.

Among the links, there were these amazing photos from the hikers Haute Route and the Bernese Oberland from the View Finder Dispatch.

A mountain hut in the Bernese Oberland

Inside an alpine hut

Trail signs in the Bernese Oberland

Gorner Gletcher

There was also a reminder that the Alps aren’t actually that far away from London. Aquavista managed two weekend trips to the Alps last year – to the Berchtesgadener and to the Karwendel Alps.

As last summer was so busy with personal things, there isn’t much of my own hiking to look back on – apart from a weekend trip to the Brecon Beacons. I should have more time this summer though. All of this makes me want to plan the next trip!

Related posts:

4 comments

  1. shakylegs · · Reply

    Browsing your site, I spotted one of your pictures; the one of the mountains, the waterfall, and the Berghaus. I immediately said: “That looks like Murren.” And finding the text – it was.
    If there is one place on earth that is close to my heart – it is the Bernese Oberland. I am considering writing into my will, to bury my ashes in the shadow of the Eiger at Alpiglen. (joking)

  2. I love your blog! Do you have any recommendations for hiking in or around Italy in late February/early March?

    1. Hi! Thanks for the love declaration :-) Late February/ early March is definitely too early for traditional hiking in the Alps, as there’s too much snow. People will probably be trying to ski the popular routes like the Alta Via 1, or the TDC. It might be worth looking at lower altitude walks (or snow shoeing) around some of the bigger winter sports resorts like Cortina or Alta Badia. Sorry I can’t be of more help. I hope you’ll find a fun and safe trail!

      1. Thanks for the advice, very helpful! I’m hoping to do some day trips instead since its so cold still.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

